Ordinary People as Monks and Mystics

It’s the early days of October and the fog in the mornings lead me through the clouds on the highways. The coast is grey with drizzles in patches on the north Interstate 5.

I have recently started reading the above mentioned title by Marsha Sinetar, author of the classic Do What You Love, and the Money Will Follow. This book comes into my life after many years of my trying to frame and find context for the happenstances in my inner life. I realize that my conscious journey is also one towards wholeness.

I was very young when I looked at others from their outsides- the Christian who invited me to their church was a jesusfreak; the hippie smelled of patchoulie and had boyfriends who smoked too much pot; the Catholic always wanted me to study catechism in order to get baptized in the church by Easter; the Buddhist monk offered tea after evening meditation and wanted to sell me a sitting cushion. I have been unscathed for the most part from these early meetings along the road.

My committment to the writing life made clear once more, the essential role of social and personal transcendence for the writer.

Sinetar details the four sacrifices in the advancement of wholeness:

“Sacrifice of collective opinion, custom, vanity, security, guarantees, in favor of identifying and expressing the deepest values of one’s life: love, truth, health, beauty, compassion, etc.

Sacrifice of living unconsciously, of not knowing who one is or what is right in favor of bringing the law of one’s being into existence through conscious expression.

Sacrifice of direct and “safe” routes of accomplishment in favor of those which may be more demanding, risk-laden, ethical, illogical, unpopular….

Sacrifice of the individual’s peculiar, risk-avoiding tendencies (e.g. withdrawl from or avoidance of difficulty) in favor of reliability, committment, and responsibility in relationship to self-and-others. (p.23)

These ideas are some of the jewels that I have recently ingested for their radiance and vitality.

PS I have taken on much of the world. I look forward to letting go of these non-essentials, in the next exhalation and the next…

About heartbluestockings

All posts are original intellectual property. Copyright 2010 Hae Jung Kwon. All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in Bibliotherapy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ordinary People as Monks and Mystics

  1. Patricia says:

    “The world is too much with us, late and soon
    Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers
    Little we see in nature that is ours…”

Leave a Reply

